Sri Lanka Parliament votes against Rajapaksa in no-confidence motion

COLOMBO (AFP) – Sri Lanka’s Parliament passed a motion of no-confidence in the controversially appointed government of Mr Mahinda Rajapakse on Wednesday (Nov 14), a day after the Supreme Court overturned a presidential decree dissolving the legislature.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya ruled that a majority of the 225-member assembly supported a no-confidence motion against Mr Rajapaksa who was made prime minister on Oct 26 in place of Mr Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The result does not automatically mean that Mr Wickremesinghe, whose party is the biggest in Parliament, has won the constitutional showdown.

President Maithripala Sirisena retains the power to choose the next prime minister.

Source: Read Full Article